Only 1/2 Crazy: Half Marathon Tricks & Tips

So… you’re only half crazy.

I ran my first half marathon a few months ago – I’m pretty much a race noob, so I learned a lot. Here’s a few things I discovered.

  1. As much as you don’t want to, practice hills. Race courses are sometimes unpredictable (especially if you don’t do much research…)
  2. Hydrate. Hydrate, hydrate, hydrate. Then hydrate some more.
  3. Warm up before the race! I mean it! Jog a bit, stretch, etc. It will make a difference.
  4. Try breathing techniques to get you through the hard moments. I like to take two short breaths through my nose and one longer breath out. It can help you keep track of your pace too.
  5. Ground yourself in something that inspires you. Mine was “I never thought I could do this. Now look at me. Look at me!!!” I only cried tears of joy three times.
  6. Don’t give up. Walk if you need to. Shit, stop & take a 5 minute break if that’s what it takes. But seriously, don’t give up. You got this!

Screen Shot 2017-05-15 at 9.10.06 PM

Leave a Reply

